top of page

Walking in a Winter Wonderland.

FINALLY!!

I finally got the chance to experience Hyde Park's magical Christmas event, Winter Wonderland. So, of course I had to have a blog post on it, couldn't resist. I will tell you all about my day, tips and best bits.

My lovely boyfriend treated us, we booked online - which I highly recommend as we skipped a massive queue, feeling like VIP. We only booked 2 of the events you could purchase, as we didn't feel the need to do anymore and didn't want to be rushing around. Our gut feeling was correct, just doing the 2 was perfect, we didn't feel like we missed out on anything. So, we booked the Giant Wheel which was amazing, you feel higher than it looks. You get to watch over the whole of Hyde park, which was beautiful as it was getting dark and there was so many pretty lights. The view was impeccable, the Shard, Canary Wharf was all in sight - worth every penny. We couldn't of asked for better people to be on their with us either, 6 can fit in one cart, and we was with a mother and her 3 children. They were so friendly, we all chatted and it wasn't awkward to take a selfie or pictures, some people can make you feel uncomfortable in that situation - the annoying people on this earth. The second event we booked was the Circus, which was the best circus show me and my boyfriend had ever seen. The acts were breath taking, some make you feel on the edge of your seat. None of the acts were cheesy, all thrill-seeking and enjoyable to watch. You would be silly not to want to book this event, I highly recommend the Circus, you wouldn't want to miss it. We drove up to London as I had work the next day, which meant I missed out on booking a hotel - for all of your readers that don't know, I love staying in hotels. We parked about a 20 minute walk to Hyde Park, the car park we used was the one on Bell Street. Very good car park, secure and cheap - I paid £9.50 for 9 hours - also book online as I think its a bit more expensive paying on the day. Round the corner was a tube station, so we got the tube to Oxford street and had a 'little' shop. It was actually very successful, we bought many of our families Christmas presents. The market at Hyde Park is lovely, so many different stalls, from art work to jewellery. We spent hours wondering around, plenty of fair ground rides, which gave it a lively atmosphere. A good number of bars to visit, which were gorgeous, all wooden, with deer carvings and fairy lights - I was in my element. They were a bit stingy on the alcohol though, I must admit. Me and Kyle had planned to go out for dinner, to a restaurant near by, but in all honesty we couldn't be bothered to leave the park and go find one. So to Kyle's excitement we just got a burger, german hot dog and chips to share. All the meat we had was scrumptious, the chips on the other hand weren't to our taste. We ordered cheesy chips (which we love) however, we think it was stilton cheese or something strong, as it was extremely cheesy. I am not the biggest fan of cheese as it is, Kyle loves it but even he couldn't eat them - if you love stilton cheese readers, it is designed for you guys. There was so many sweet treats available, bubble waffle cones, pancakes, donuts, chocolate fountain, mmmmm loved it. It was very romantic for the both of us, we had one of the best day's out. It is safe to say, me and Kyle both lost our Winter Wonderland virginities that day.

Below is a slideshow of a few pictures of our day, enjoy.

Lots of love Els xx


bottom of page