top of page

The beauty of skin care.

Skin care is something my mum introduced me to when I was little, making sure I moisturised at least twice a day. Yet being the teenager I am, my skin is like a rollercoaster. My skin can - on the occasion - be almost flawless, without a blemish in sight. Then one morning, the skin on my face might bless me with a few volcanos here and there. There are a lot of reasons why I think I break out, stress, alcohol, McDonald's and more McDonald's. So I would say my skin is very unpredictable, I always find that I get big spots when I don't need them - either near a night out or an occasion where it just isn't needed. I would say I have normal to dry skin and can naturally be slightly red on my cheeks and chin. A few years back I experienced a case of mild acne on my T-zone, however I got rid of it within around 2 months. During this experience I discovered my holy grail of moisturisers, it is something that will never let me down and will always make my skin feel baby soft.

Simple Light Moisturiser is my HOLY GRAIL! It definitely says what it does on the packet, it is a light weight cream, which glides effortlessly across my skin. I always put it on every morning and evening, and I put it on before applying my makeup. It works as a good base, hydrating the dry areas of my skin making my makeup look better than ever. It is an affordable drug store product, in boots costing £4.29. It doesn't include any artificial perfume or colour which is what I look for in a product, as the perfume can make my skin feel sore. I don't think I will ever stop buying this moisturiser, it really is fabulous. I have included the Clinique take the day off cleansing balm in the picture as it has become my new makeup remover. I would describe it as a lazy girls best friend, which suits me perfectly. I have never experienced something so easy to use, I didn't think it would be able to remove my mascara but hun did it prove me wrong. My makeup floats off my skin, leaving it looking spotless. The balm transforms into a silky oil, which leave my skin feeling extremely soft when it has been rinsed. It again doesn't include any form of fragrance, so my skin is irritation free. For 125ml on the Clinique website, it costs £23, worth every penny. 

Experimenting with skin care is something I would go about doing, yet mum recommended me Liz Earle's skin care products and I trust her word so I have tested them out. I have to say, I was quite surprised at the price, they are a drugstore product, with a high end skin care price - all 3 for £49. The set of 3 contains a routine of skin care products, to follow one after the other. The first being a Cleanse & Polish hot cloth cleaner, this removes any left over makeup nourishing the skin. It is a cream which you gently massage into the face and neck, then polish off by rinsing with a hot cloth. The second product which follows, is the Instant Boost Skin Tonic, cleansing and toning the skin. The final step consists of the all important Skin Repair Moisturiser, in comparison to Simple it is a lot thicker in consistency which I personally don't like. A little goes a long way with this product, you don't need to apply a lot. All 3 combine together really well, making my skin feel radiant and soft. Still got nothing on my Simple cream, it's a winner hunnies.

There we have it, my go to skin care products. I have decided that my weekly blog post will be on the Wednesday, so make sure you keep up to date my lovely's.

Lots of love Els xx


bottom of page