top of page

On Wednesday's we celebrate Mothers Day.

Oh shock, another quote from Mean girl's, who would of guessed it - obviously I changed it up a little. 

This is an appreciation post for mothers, especially mine. This year I couldn't celebrate it with her on Mothering Sunday as I was working, so I said I would treat her on the Wednesday. My Mum is a young mum, having me at the age of 18. There are benefits and negatives of the closer age gap, we act like sisters more than mother and daughter. We wear each others clothes, share makeup, catch up on the latest gossip but then we also argue like crazy - like any mother and daughter really. We are so similar it is unreal, but I wouldn't change her for the world. 

On the Wednesday after Mothering Sunday, I treated my mum to afternoon tea at Beckworth Emporium. If you haven't heard of it before, it is a luxury food hall, with a garden centre and restaurant - it is lovely. It is £25 for 2 people, which is a decent price. I ordered a deluxe caramel latte and mum got a regular latte to accompany it as you can choose any tea or coffee they provide. The afternoon tea Beckworth serve consists of a variation of sandwiches which were lovely, however we swapped the brie & plum jam and the salmon & cream cheese sandwiches because they aren’t to mine or mums taste. It is decorated with a handful of salted crisps, and cress (which was then put to the side and not eaten). Beckworth serve the most beautiful scones, which are so scrummy, with clotted cream and strawberry jam. The best bit, the sweet treats, being a black forest gateaux - which I wasn't all keen on - a shortbread biscuit and a berry mini dessert pot. Now, the mini dessert pot was absolutely dreamy, it was so rich and sweet in flavour. It was topped with meringue, which gave it a sweet crunch and a soft layer of jelly at the bottom - almost like a trifle. Me and Mum really enjoyed it and that's all that matters, we love our girly time. 

 I hope all mothers had a lush day, like my mummy did. 

Lots of love Els xx


bottom of page