top of page

Heavenly bodies.

Hello my lovelies, hope you all had a lovely bank holiday!

I wanted to talk to you about my most favourite fashion night of the year, the Met Gala. A theme tends to be followed each year, this year with God on it's side taking on heavenly bodies - fashion and the catholic imagination. Taking inspiration from religious art and artefacts, the looks that were displayed that night were beautiful. I will review some of the looks I have seen and have caught my eye the most huns.

Gigi Hadid, the most breath taking look by far. A stain glass window inspired dress deigned by Versace. The design of the dress is stunning, with her hair and makeup complementing her look perfectly. I have to say, stepping out onto that red carpet alone was a brave choice, but she sure as hell rocked it.

Lets not forget Gigi's younger sister Bella Hadid, I am getting so many different vibes from this look. I am not sure if I am in love with it, but she looks amazing. Bella is definitely challenging her darker side, shinning in black. I wonder if Mr Grey is waiting round the corner... Wearing Gareth Pugh x Chrome Hearts.

Ariana Grande slayed, bringing the Sistine Chapel to the Gala. Wearing a Vera Wang gown, inspired by the 'Last Judgment' painting took everyone's breath away. As it was Ariana's first Met Gala, she served looks. Not the most elegant of poses, but she is still as pretty as ever.

I love Rihanna, I do, she is stunting them glitter Louboutins like there is no tomorrow... but girl, that outfit is a no from me. I'm getting extreme pope vibes and it's not working for me, she took the theme quite literally. I'm not going to lie, she is the most prettiest and glamourous pope I have seen, but not for a Met Gala. The pearl and crystal embellishment is gorgeous, I will give her that. Wearing Maison Margiela by John Galliano.

AHHHHHH!!! My favourite couple ever, Cole Sprouse and Lili Reinhart. Everyone knew that romance was in the air for the both of them, but they finally made their romantic debut as a couple on the red carpet. If you didn't know already I absolutely love the series Riverdale, by far my favourite series I have watched. Anyway, Lili is styled by H&M in a beautiful armor-inspired silver dress with a chainmail corset and silver lamé organza, while Cole rocks a silk cream Thom Browne tuxedo vest and overcoat. I love the look Lili has, having a short ruffled dress with a train adding that extra bit of elegance to her look. The strappy heels was a good choice, accentuating her legs brining out the inner super model she has. Cole just looks dapper than ever, hair slicked back with a longlined blazer/jacket and to give it a bit of edge short cuffed trousers - showing off them ankles for the ladies.

A lady in red. I am absolutely living for this look, Blake Lively sure knows how to make a statement. Wearing a custom Versace gown, she is by far the best dressed. The corset embellishment fits her body beautifully, while she is ready to take her thrown with a gorgeous red gown. Well done S, you sure do know how to dress for a party xo xo

I mean, carrying your own Icon gold record certificate to the Met Gala, is brilliant. Why not? I am in love with his Louis Vuitton trench coat, what a funky vibe. His whole outfit just works, from his white jeans and trainers to his chains and blonde hair. Jaiden Smith is an 'Icon' indeed, wearing one of his t-shirts from his own brand of clothing MSFTS.

It's Kendall Jenner wearing all white, I can hear the bells ringing from here. Wearing an off-the-shoulder ruched top with sheer gloves and matching train trousers by Virgil Abloh. I am living for the top half of the outfit, the trained trousers just look a hot mess to me. They will be so dirty by the end of the evening, tripping over and all sorts. But of course, she still looks amazing.

Kylie's first event after her new born baby Stormi, with baby daddy Travis. I am a bit disappointed in Kylie this year, I don't like anything about this look. The glasses don't match the outfit or the occasion, the dress doesn't look very comfortable on her and god knows what's on her feet. Kylie is by far my favourite Jenner, but her Alexander Wang gown just didn't do it for me.

YASSSSSS, J Lo working the red carpet. Showing off her new makeup collaboration while wearing a Balmain dress, with a feathered bottom which makes her look stand out from the crowd. The bright coloured embellishment against the black blends her outfit into one and makes it pop. I just want to know how she still looks so young? Share your secrets.

What wins me over with this outfit, is the head piece. Don't get me wrong the dress is stunning - if it was her wedding day. But the head piece just makes her look go from 50 to 100. Winnie Harlow wearing Tommy Hilfiger. I must say she does look like a walking angel, Winnie pulled it out the bag.

This had to be spoken about, are they dating? Hailey Baldwin is one hell of a good looking girl, so he's done alright there hasn't he. It was apparently said that she tweeted a few years ago saying she wished to date Shawn so he could sing to her, maybe her dreams have come true? Awkward, apparently not. Shawn made it clear to the press that they were just good friends, but I think he's just playing it down, they suit don't you think? They are both dressed in Tommy Hilfiger, looking lushus. Hailey chose a colour that would compliment her pink hair, which looks fab. The high leg split up the dress gives her outfit that bit of edge, as she has a long train following her.

What do you guys think of these looks? It is just my opinion and thoughts of their outfits, you may view differently huns. I hope you all have a lovely weekend.

Lots of love Els xx

P.s. if you don't already, follow my blog account on Instagram and send me any feedback or blog post requests you may have. Instagram: elsblogx


bottom of page